Home » Training Courses » BOSIET – Basic Offshore Safety Induction and Emergency Training inc HUET

BOSIET – Basic Offshore Safety Induction and Emergency Training inc HUET

This course is designed for those who require an OPITO approved BOSIET course in order to work in the Offshore and Maritime Industry.


  Book Now

Overview

The aim of this course is to provide participants with an understanding and awareness of the hazards encountered when working on offshore installations and the safety regime and safety management systems in place to control and mitigate those hazards.

This course also provides participants with the knowledge, skills and confidence to respond appropriately in the event of an emergency whilst offshore, and to enhance their survivability in the event of an emergency through proper use of emergency equipment and procedures.

Course Outcomes

On completion of this course, participants should be able to:

  • Receive a safety induction covering:
    • Industry and installation overview
    • Offshore hazards
    • Industry and installation overview
    • Offshore hazards
    • Managing offshore safety
    • Controlling offshore hazards
    • Regulating offshore safety
    • Living and working offshore
  • Take appropriate actions following:
    • A controlled emergency descent to a dry landing
    • A controlled ditching on water
    • A partial submersion of an aircraft
    • An aircraft capsize in water
  • Understand what actions to carry out in preparation for a helicopter ditching
  • Correctly use an Emergency Breathing System (Rebreather) and transit suit for helicopter travel
  • Prepare for the abandonment of the offshore facility and manage the survival process
  • Carry out correct actions when mustering and boarding as a passenger of a TEMPSC (Totally Enclosed Motor Powered Survival Craft) during launch operations
  • Correctly fit a helicopter strop and adopt correct body posture during winching
  • Correctly use hand-held portable fire extinguishers
  • Correctly use small bore fire hoses and fire blankets
  • Use appropriate self rescue techniques using a smoke hood
COURSE DATES
Start DateEnd DateLocationBook Now
Tuesday 26 June, 2018Wednesday 27 June, 2018FremantleBook Now
Wednesday 27 June, 2018Thursday 28 June, 2018FremantleFully Booked
Thursday 28 June, 2018Friday 29 June, 2018FremantleBook Now
Monday 2 July, 2018Tuesday 3 July, 2018FremantleBook Now
Tuesday 3 July, 2018Wednesday 4 July, 2018FremantleBook Now
Wednesday 4 July, 2018Thursday 5 July, 2018FremantleBook Now
Thursday 5 July, 2018Friday 6 July, 2018FremantleBook Now
Monday 9 July, 2018Tuesday 10 July, 2018FremantleBook Now
Tuesday 10 July, 2018Wednesday 11 July, 2018FremantleBook Now
Wednesday 11 July, 2018Thursday 12 July, 2018FremantleBook Now
Thursday 12 July, 2018Friday 13 July, 2018FremantleBook Now
Monday 16 July, 2018Tuesday 17 July, 2018FremantleBook Now
Tuesday 17 July, 2018Wednesday 18 July, 2018FremantleBook Now
Wednesday 18 July, 2018Thursday 19 July, 2018FremantleBook Now
Thursday 19 July, 2018Friday 20 July, 2018FremantleBook Now
Monday 23 July, 2018Tuesday 24 July, 2018FremantleBook Now
Tuesday 24 July, 2018Wednesday 25 July, 2018FremantleBook Now
Wednesday 1 August, 2018Thursday 2 August, 2018FremantleBook Now
Thursday 2 August, 2018Friday 3 August, 2018FremantleBook Now
Friday 3 August, 2018Saturday 4 August, 2018FremantleBook Now
Monday 6 August, 2018Tuesday 7 August, 2018FremantleBook Now
Tuesday 7 August, 2018Wednesday 8 August, 2018FremantleBook Now
Wednesday 8 August, 2018Thursday 9 August, 2018FremantleBook Now
Thursday 9 August, 2018Friday 10 August, 2018FremantleBook Now
Monday 13 August, 2018Tuesday 14 August, 2018North LakeBook Now
Tuesday 14 August, 2018Wednesday 15 August, 2018FremantleBook Now
Wednesday 15 August, 2018Thursday 16 August, 2018FremantleBook Now
Thursday 16 August, 2018Friday 17 August, 2018FremantleBook Now
Friday 17 August, 2018Saturday 18 August, 2018FremantleBook Now
Monday 20 August, 2018Tuesday 21 August, 2018FremantleBook Now
Tuesday 21 August, 2018Wednesday 22 August, 2018FremantleBook Now
FEES
Membership TypePrice
Non-Member$2,000
Non-Member Limited Time Offer$1,800
Individual/Associate$1,800
Ruby$1,750
Sapphire$1,700
Emerald$1,650
Diamond$1,600

Please enquire for further membership discounts available.

PRE-REQUISITES

A valid medical that meets IFAP’s guidelines must be presented prior to undertaking the practical components of the course, to prove participants are medically and physically capable to do the training required. (Please contact IFAP to enquire about accepted medicals).

NOTE: IFAP can assist non-swimming participants with basic water skills training prior to the course, however this must be arranged in advance.

ON-COMPLETION

Successful completion of the assessment requirements will provide participants with an IFAP photo ID card and an OPITO certificate.

ADDITIONAL INFO
  • Photo identification must be provided – Passport, Australian Driver’s Licence or Proof of Age Card only will be accepted.
  • Participants must bring a swimming costume.
  • Overalls, shoes and boots for wet and dry practical exercises are provided together with towels for showers. Lockers are also available.
  • For the in-class session, clean casual clothing is required and covered footwear is essential (no high heels). It is requested that where possible jewellery is not to be worn and valuables not brought to the centre.
  • IFAP holds no responsibility for lost or stolen valuables. We also recommend that participants do not wear contact lenses (or glasses) in the pool, therefore suitable containers should be brought to store lenses.

NOTE: IFAP’s BOSIET course exceeds the standard OPITO course in some content in order to meet Australian regulations and company requirements.

Refresher

OPITO will allow an individual to refresh a BOSIET course within a four-year period. However, this duration is a maximum time frame and the actual refresher period is still dictated by each country’s legislation or company requirements. The BOSIET Refresher course is the OPITO approved FOET (Further Offshore Emergency Training).